There are 0 user(s) on chat now:

[ Login to join chat ]

The AMV format - i think i can create a better converter

Reply to topic

alex2pb
MPx Junkie
MPx Junkie

Romania European Union
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:54 am   Post subject: Idea The AMV format - i think i can create a better converter Back to top 

Hi guys! I am a sunday programmer and i want to ask you if anyone has any knowledge of the amv video format. What i want to do is to create a new amv converter, for example one that could let you choose any movie size Smile. I think it would not be bad to try that but unfortunately i haven't found any papers about this format. If i stay up and try to hack it with a hex editor i would spend too much time with it and i don't have that much time on my hands. So is it a good idea to try or should i drop it ?? Wink

Download Post  No rating  
Th3_uN1Qu3
MPx-a-lolics Anonymous
MPx-a-lolics Anonymous

Romania European Union
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 2:38 pm   Post subject:   Back to top 

Hi man! Nice to see more Romanians here. (damn database crash removing my posts Laughing)

I don't think it would be that good of an idea, coz AMV players are getting out of fashion quickly, with AVI/DivX players replacing them, but it would be great seeing a converter with explicit image size, ratio and frame rate options. Cool

Unfortunately there really isn't any documentation on the AMV format around, but by the looks of it in a hex editor it's just an AVI with hacked headers. Try ripping the headers out of an AMV file and pasting them over the headers of a MJPEG compressed AVI resized to your player's screen size. If you're lucky it just might work, and you will have the starting point of coding your new converter. Very Happy

MEIZU M6SL Cool <> black <> 4GB <> 2.4 inch TFT <> Touchpad <> XviD 20FPS <> 25 hours battery (music) <> Wolfson DAC Very Happy <> Sony earbuds
Resigned: SigmaTel STMP3504 <> 2GB <> 1.5 inch TFT
Bye-bye Actions! (at least for now)